About myself in German – sich vorstellen

Last Updated on February 23, 2024

About myself in German is the first part of the B1 oral exam. This is a relative simple task that is prepared and memorized at home. However, you should think it through carefully, imagining all the possible questions that can be asked to your text, and compiling answers to them.

Oral part of the German B1 exam. Speaking topics
All b1 German speaking topics (DTZ, telc b1). Part 2

Read about German test b1 Deutschtest für Zuwanderer (DTZ).
Letters 1, Letters 2, Letters 3, Letters 4, Letters 5, Letter 6
Dialogues for B1 test 1, Dialogues 2
German picture description phrases and sequence
Describing people’s appearance in German (Personenbeschreibung)
Describe appearance of a person in German. Body and clothing
Everything about the #Orientierungstest (Test Leben in Deutschland) is here.

About myself in German – structure

“sich vorstellen” is rather free-form, despite the fact that it has certain points that need to be covered, and as a whole it goes in chronological order. But you can rearrange these items or not mention them.

Don’t forget, you don’t have to be completely frank and honest. It’s easier to tell the truth, because you have to think only about German, and not about the legend. But if there are points in your biography that you do not want to discuss, or if you are afraid of getting confused in the language, trying to explain, omit or change them. This is a language exam, not a job application or confession.

The main rule for talking “about myself” is to mention only what you can talk about in more detail, and be sure to emphasize the interesting thing that you would like to talk more about (for example, add a sentence to this part).

If you embroider with beads and are ready to discuss it, then let them know about your hobby. If this topic is too difficult for you, then keep silent about it. The same applies to all the main points of the story. Is your specialty too difficult? Tell about it in general terms. Do you collect Lego minifigures and are ready to talk about it in any language? Don’t forget to say it. Examiners are people too, they prefer to be distracted from the routine if they hear something non-standard.

In any case, you must be ready to answer questions about family, hobbies, work and plans for a future life in Germany. If the examiners do not pick up on something in your story, then they will ask a standard question on these topics.

Standard items that can be stated. With an asterisk, those that are more or less required:
– *name
– age
– *country where you came from, how many years in Germany
– reason for arrival
– *marital status and children
– education
– *occupation and job in Germany (potential or existing)
– hobbies (not 100% required, but if not mentioned, then you need to prepare an answer to the question about it)
– place of residence (city * and your attitude towards it and towards Germany)
– how many years have you been learning German and how do you feel about it

The approximate volume is about 15-20 simple sentences.

Vocabulary

Name

Mein Name ist…
Ich bin …
Ich heiße …

if you have difficult name for Germans, you can add: … ist mein Vorname, … ist mein Nachname (Familienname)

Ich bin … Jahre alt

Origin and reasons for migration

Ich komme aus …
Ich stamme aus …

Ich bin nach Deutschland gekommen, …
weil ich hier studieren will
weil mein Mann hier einen Job gefunden hat

Der Grund, warum ich mein Heimatland verlassen habe, ist …

Ich lebe seit … (2020, 3 Jahre) in Deutschland

Family, children

Ich bin verheiratet / ledig / verwitwet / alleinerziehend
Ich habe ein Kind / … Kinder / keine Kinder

Education and professional activities

Ich bin … von Beruf.
In … (meinem Land) war ich … / Ich habe als … gearbeitet
Ich bin (war) als (…) tätig

In Deutschland kann ich nicht als … arbeiten.
Ich muss zuerst Deutsch lernen (eine Ausbildung machen, eine Prüfung bestanden, Weiterbildung machen…)
Jetzt arbeite ich nicht / Ich bin arbeitslos / Ich bin Hausfrau
Ich plane, mir einen Job als … zu suchen

Ich habe … (Programmieren, Physik, Mathe, Ingenieurwesen…) an der Universität studiert
Ich habe meinen Abschluss … (als Rechtsanwalt, in Chemie…) gemacht
Ich habe eine Ausbildung zum (Koch, Maler… ) absolviert

Ich studiere an der … Universität

Hobbies

Mein Hobby ist … / Meine Hobbys sind …
Meine Freizeitaktivitäten sind …
Lesen, Klavier spiele, Reisen, Stricken, Joggen, Fahrradfahren

In der Freizeit gehe ich gern ins Kino
Ich habe viele Freunde. Wir gehen oft …, treffen uns …

Language learning, current place of residence, attitude to the city and to Germany

Ich wohne jetzt in …
Mein Wohnort ist …

… gefällt mir, weil die Stadt grün und ruhig ist. Alles ist in der Nähe.
, weil ich mit der S-Bahn alles schnell erreichen kann.

Ich lerne Deutsch seit… (3 Jahre).
Ich habe Deutsch schon in der Schule gelernt.
… ist meine Muttersprache. Außerdem spreche ich auch Englisch, Spanisch…

Ich mag Deutschland, hier ist es sicher, die Menschen sind freundlich.
Ich fühle mich einsam in Deutschland. Obwohl die Menschen freundlich sind, sind sie sehr zurückhaltend
Mir gefällt, dass Deutschland ein sicheres Land ist, aber es ist auch sehr bürokratisch.

Examples

Mein Name ist Max Mustermann. Ich bin 36 Jahre alt.
Ich komme aus Georgien und lebe seit drei Jahren in Deutschland.
In Georgien habe ich Programmieren an der Universität studiert und danach in einem internationalen Unternehmen als Programmierer gearbeitet. In Deutschland habe ich einen neuen interessanten Job gefunden.
Ich bin verheiratet und habe zwei Jungen. Sie sind 3 und 6 Jahre alt. Meine Frau ist Hausfrau.
In meiner Freizeit lese ich viel, schaue fern und gehe mit meinen Kindern aus.
Ich mag Deutschland. Wir wohnen in einer kleinen Stadt in der Nähe von München. Sie ist sehr grün und hat gute Verkehrsanbindung. Am Wochenende können wir in die Berge fahren.

Mein Name ist Elon Musk. Ich bin 47 Jahre alt.
Ich bin 2019 als Spätaussiedler aus Kasachstan gekommen.
In Kasachstan habe ich als Automechaniker gearbeitet. Ich habe noch keinen Job in Deutschland gefunden. Zuerst muss ich die Sprache lernen, eine Weiterbildung machen und eine Prüfung bestehen.
Ich habe eine Frau und 7 Kinder.
In meiner Freizeit repariere ich gerne alte Autos.
Ich habe in meiner Kindheit Deutsch gesprochen, aber dann habe ich die Sprache vergessen. Jetzt fällt es mir schwer, Grammatik zu lernen.
Wir wohnen in München. Hier ist alles furchtbar teuer.

Ich heiße Elena Fischer. Ich bin 39 Jahre alt. Ich komme aus Armenien und lebe seit 2015 in Deutschland.
Ich bin verheiratet. Wir sind nach Deutschland gekommen, weil mein Mann hier einen Job gefunden hat.
Wir haben drei Tochter. Die älteste Tochter ist in der 3. Klasse. Die jüngeren Töchter sind Zwillinge. Sie besuchen den Kindergarten.
Ich bin zur Zeit Hausfrau. Ich habe Literatur in Armenien studiert. In Deutschland braucht man meine Ausbildung nicht. Ich muss erst die Sprache lernen und irgendwelche Ausbildung machen. Ich denke, ich könnte als Erzieherin arbeiten.
Mein Hobby ist Reisen. Wir haben schon viele interessante Orte in Europa besucht.

More Exam B1 Topics – #DTZ
Oral part of the German B1 exam. Speaking topics
All b1 German speaking topics (DTZ, telc b1). Part 2

Read about German test b1 Deutschtest für Zuwanderer (DTZ).
Letters 1, Letters 2, Letters 3, Letters 4, Letters 5, Letter 6
Dialogues for B1 test 1, Dialogues 2
German picture description phrases and sequence
Describing people’s appearance in German (Personenbeschreibung)
Describe appearance of a person in German. Body and clothing
Everything about the #Orientierungstest (Test Leben in Deutschland) is here.

Do you enjoy the site without cookies and maybe without ads? This means that I work for you at my own expense.
Perhaps you would like to support my work here.
Or
Cookie settings change: round sign bottom left

Leave a comment

Email is not compulsory